I Vow To Be Awesome

So sorry for the radio silence. We, uhh, bought a house! 🙂 It’s the cutest house you ever did see and we are thrilled to bits. But, as you can imagine, these things are never very easy so all my energy has been focused on getting the deal DONE. But, we got the house and, because I’m me, this is what I chose for my house key:

And here’s a gratuitous shot of my sassy fiance putting the ‘Man’ in Manual Labor. Me-ow!

But anyway, back to the task at hand:

Vow vow vows. What do you say to each other when you aren’t practicing a specific religion and yet want to make mention of some sort of higher power blessing and watching over your union? How do you say something meaningful and profound in front of your friends and family when you don’t have pre-written traditional religious vows to use?

Such is our question now. My sweetie and I were raised in two completely seperate faiths (mine was Protestant Christian, his was more of an eastern tradition) and while we still maintain a healthy dose of respect for the faiths of our childhood, neither of us care to make our ceremony specifically ‘religious’. BUT we’re not un-spiritual either. In fact, one of the things that made me melt for him on our first date was our lengthy conversation about spirituality and what we thought our place in the universe was.

So what to do? In a nod to my past, I was a fan of more traditional vows and maybe switching some words around to make them more modern and general. Big thanks to The Knot (www.theknot.com) for having so many resources because I found THREE that I really liked and we might take on as our own! Here they are:

Option 1: “______, will you take ______ as your wife/husband, will you pledge to share your life openly with her/him, to speak the truth to her/him, in love? Will you promise to honor and tenderly care for her/him, to encourage her/him fulfillment as an individual through all the changes in your lives?”

Option 2: ___, I promise to be faithful, supportive, and loyal and to give you my companionship and love throughout all the changes of our life. I vow to bring you happiness, and I will treasure you as my companion. I will celebrate the joys of life with you. I promise to support your dreams, and walk beside you offering courage and strength through all endeavors. From this day forward, I will be proud to be your wife/husband and your best friend.”

Option 3: “I, ______, take you ______, for my wedded wife/husband from this day forward, to have and to hold as equal partner in my life, to whom I give my deepest love and devotion. I humbly open my heart to you as a sanctuary of warmth and peace, where you may come and find a refuge of love and strength. I will love you enough to risk being hurt, trust you when I don’t understand, weep with you in heartache, and celebrate life with you in joy. I will receive you as my equal throughout all of our days.”

I have to admit that I melted a bit with Option 2. It’s very close to expressing the hopes and I dreams I have for our marriage.

Which one is your favorite?

~ by fluvial on December 2, 2010.

Leave a Reply

