Sage Scented Destiny

A few days after the engagement, the question of ‘Where?’ rose up with a roar since we knew the location had to be amazing.  Country clubs, churches, and formal estates just aren’t our style but we hit a few roadblocks when we began to look at local outdoor venues like parks, backyards, etc.  Our first thought was a Seattle park on the water.  Public land is…public, no?  Well, in order to rent a park structure on the water, Seattle charges OUTRAGEOUS fees to the tune of many hundreds of dollars per hour with an 8 hour minimum.  No thanks!

So then we thought about a backyard but couldn’t find anything big enough.

Then we started to realize that if we had our wedding in Seattle, the expectations would be higher in terms of quality, size of guest list, etc.  It wasn’t out of the realm of possibility to expect our guest list to exceed 150 if we were going to have it the town where we lived.  And that, my friends, is EXPENSIVE.

And then we got to thinking…

I was a National Park Ranger at the North Rim of the Grand Canyon and really ‘found’ myself there.  I ended up running away for a little over a year to that wild wild place and that’s where I met my best friends, proved to myself what I was capable of enduring, and where I truly felt the meaning of the word ‘awesome’ in my marrow.

Why not the Grand Canyon?  M, being the amazing man that he is, took it on blind faith that the Canyon would be the right spot.

How’s this for a wedding venue?

Words can’t express the grandeur of this place.  It’s got a silence you can taste.  The place forces you to forget all your back home drama and focus on the true essence of being.  This site is one of the first places I visited back in the beginning of my journey to Me and it’s loaded with wonderful memories of Navajo tacos, new friends, being terrified of the heights, and the smell of sage and pinion juniper.

Perfect!!

M and I took our one and only recon mission to the Canyon this past weekend and so far, wedding planning has been a cinch.  We booked our caterer and she’s going to let us choose our own recipes!  This means really really good food.  We met with photographers and other wedding-ish folks but probably the best part was showing him the Canyon for the first time.  We went to the South Rim and I walked him out to Mather Point for his first view which prompted the expected ‘WOW!  It doesn’t look real!  This is amazing!’ talk talk talk.  Clearly, I hadn’t done my job right if he was still talking.  🙂  Later on in the afternoon, we went out to Shoshone (our wedding site) and that’s where it hit him.  He sat out on the point and was totally silent.  Jaw open, eyes huge, and silent.  Bingo!

So, that’s the story of our wedding site.  Our guests are in for a major treat.  Imagine candle lit dinner under the stars in the middle of nowhere.  Dancing, toasts, and lots of surprises.

This picture was taken 7 years ago when I first visited.  Amazing to think that all these years later, that place still has such a hold on me that I want to make my most important promise on it.

 

Many thanks to Amy for the two pictures! And love to C who’s artistic talents inspired to dig deeper into that experience.

~ by fluvial on October 4, 2010.

7 Responses to “Sage Scented Destiny”

  1. I’m so happy for you both and glad that you chose the Canyon for your wedding. Those pictures brought back wonderful memories as I’m sure they did for you as well. I look forward to seeing what I’m sure will be awesome pictures from the big day!

  2. we are so so excited and cannot wait to celebrate with you!

  3. OMG, wow. I thought you were a different Elisa….now I know who you are. My apologies and yes, can’t wait to see you and meet your family!

    • Ha ha. Here I thought I was the only Elisa you’d be expecting at the Grand Canyon. Am I going to have to wear a little name tag that say’s Elisa PARRY or clarify my introduction to others as “Oh, I’m the ‘Elisa’ Katie spent senior year having youthful adventures with”? Hey, do you really want a blast from the past? Check out what Devin Fowler wrote on my facebook wall yesterday. Oh man.

  4. Hehe, no name tags necessary. You are the only Elisa at the Canyon but I know another Elisa too and she and I haven’t spoken in years so I thought it was a bit odd to hear from her out of the blue! Brain = mush. 🙂

    I’ll check out FB tonight! I think we should bring yearbooks to the Canyon and laugh about the silliness.

  5. HAHAHAHH!!! Ok, I couldn’t wait. I had to check FB on my phone and just saw his comment. First off: HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Secondly: wow. I totally forgot about that. I remember high school being (mostly) a blast and you and Devin were two of the reasons for that!

Leave a Reply

