There outta be a law.

My poor mother.  If I had a dollar for every time she said ‘All I want to do is sit at my desk and WORK!’, I’d probably have a few dollars in my pocket.  Poor thing.

The only difficult part of the transition from corporate environment to working as a family has been technology.  She is convinced that the devil lives in her computer and when things go wrong, no matter how small, she senses the first apocalyptic horseman coming up behind her.  

And honestly, I can’t really blame her.  We have gotten the run around from nearly single ‘tech professional’ since we started this thing.  What she had before was a Frankenstein computer that hadn’t been backed up in 9 years but it kept working and that was fine.  Once I came on the scene, we had to get new email addresses, set up an iMap account so I could see all the project files, new ISP, and a new copy of Outlook.  Easy, right?  No.  

The problem is, she’s been taken advantage of and it drives me insane.  Her tech guy sold her a pirated copy of Outlook.  Qwest lied to her and said that if she ever cancelled her service, she’d lose all her data, Comcast gave us a faulty router that has crashed over 400 times since we installed it (back in December), Comcast guys have bailed on us TWICE leaving us with no internet connection, etc.  She also hasn’t mastered Google Docs and panics when something happens that isn’t ‘normal’.  

There really out to be a law about this sort of thing though.  I feel like everyone from Qwest to Comcast to all the IT guys we’ve had in there (save for one) have taken advantage of her ignorance.  It’s unfair and not right.  My  job in this whole mess has been to keep her calm while finding solutions to problems I don’t even know how to diagnose.   All while doing my regular full time job.

I feel like we’re nearing the end of our technological hell and even as I type this (from home since we’ve been stranded without internet), a Comcast technician is there installing a new router.  

My mom claims that the devil lives in her computer and I’m hoping this is the final exorcism.

~ by fluvial on March 3, 2009.

2 Responses to “There outta be a law.”

  1. You are a great writer.

  2. Thanks! All those IB english classes! Har har. I’ve neglected this blog for too long but I’m going to start updating it again. I’ve totally spaced on the address for your blog though. Link?

Leave a Reply

