Heavy Hearted Justice

I thought I’d post a Newsweek link about the recent raid of a polygamist compound in Texas. This community used to live in Colorado City, AZ and Hildale, UT. I lived about an hour from Colorado City and had some direct contact with members of the group members.

A raid had to happen because abuse and violence is rampant in the community but still…the thought of all those young kids being ripped away from their parents and their home is enough to choke anyone up. Their lives will be better off because of it but they must be terrified.

I just hope the whole situation is handled with respect and is centered on the best interests of the victims.

http://www.newsweek.com/id/131379/page/1

~ by fluvial on April 10, 2008.

12 Responses to “Heavy Hearted Justice”

  1. I grew up with one Mormon family in my school. It was very odd, how they went about things, including how cutting hair was forbidden. I used to trim my friend’s hair secretly, because it was full of dead-ends, and by the end of the school year, she proclaimed it a miracle. I never told her how I used my safety scissors to help her hair sitting on my desk. They never watched tv, read the paper, and always wore long skirts or dresses, and kept ‘sweet’. Trying to get her to think for herself was a challenge, but well worth it. I’ve oft thought of her, over the years. Removing those children, pregnant children, and the mothers will be the best thing for them all – once they realize we aren’t satan. Sadly, my own family is mixed up in a different type of religious cult, of which I don’t share with them…I’m condemned and alone over it. But I’m here for my nieces and nephews who break free, and need a place to run to.

  2. It sounds like the family at your school was a member of a fundamentalist group. Just to be clear…the LDS church is NOT affiliated with the group that was raided this week. Some of my best friends are Mormon and I can assure you that they cut their hair and watch tv. 🙂

    But yeah, I think we can all agree that that type of control over people’s minds and bodies is wrong and should be stopped.

    Thanks for stopping by!

  3. I haven’t had much of a chance to really look into this matter, only what I have heard in passing. Did they take all the children from their mothers? I really hope not. I understand that they need to be away from the cult, but their mothers are the only caregivers that they have known. If these women have been good caregivers and loving it would really be sad to see them torn apart.

  4. I totally agree Fashion Sensei and I’m not sure what happened exactly. Those poor kids must be terrified and I agree that state custody might not be the best place for them

    It’s so hard to know what’s right in a situation like this.

    I just posted an entry about my experience with the community.

  5. Clealry a pact mentality. These leaders should be stoned to death. I am sick of these creeps and preditors hiding behind the cloth. I would love to punch them in the face for crimes against humanity. I do not believe the governemnt role is good, but do believe many working in government have hearts and care about the welfare of innocent children.

  6. Cults are Evil. These leaders should be stoned to death. I am sick of these creeps and preditors hiding behind the cloth. I would love to punch them in the face for crimes against humanity. I do not believe the governemnt role is good, but do believe many working in government have hearts and care about the welfare of innocent children.

  7. Thanks for your comments Liberterian. While I have a hard time with the whole eye for an eye form of justice, I do agree that I think people working with this case have hearts and are hopefully putting the welfare of the victims first.

    Oy. Such a hard situation.

    Also, I clicked your website and it’s a sales letter for a canker sore remedy? Interesting choice of URL but I thought the headline was great. 🙂 If you ever need help with your copy or marketing strategy, check out Chris Haddad. He’s a marketing genius and could help you out if you need it.

  8. You’re smart and funny. That rocks.

  9. As is normslly the case after 2 glasses of good wine, I have replied to a serious blog with a light-hearted compliment that was meant to merely address you as a writer, not trivialize this topic.
    My apologies.

  10. Ha! No worries Psansour. Thanks for the compliment…I try not to suck too terribly when I write. 🙂

  11. I am trying to figure out why all these women are doing the talking for the FLDS. Where are the raping, sodomizing, women beating cowards they call men of the compound? I am heartbroken for these woman because they do not know any other life than the one they are living. Uneducated and brainwashed into what to say, when to say it, and how to say it. The may be the caregivers of these children but are in no way capable of protecting the children. Not their fault but not a reason to give them the children back.

  12. Therein lies the dilema.

    From my experience, it seems that these groups have a strong ‘anti-government’ stance. Many of them collect welfare and take any opportunity to ‘bleed the cow’ so to speak. Since they have a strong ‘us vs. Them’ mentality and are taught to be vigilant and warriors, I’m not terribly surprised that the women are the doing most of the talking. Women of high status in these communities can be a force to be reckoned with in the outside world because they’ve been taught to fight tooth and nail for ‘The Principle’.

    Again, they’ve been brainwashed so it’s hard to ‘fault’ them. I’m not really sure how to phrase that without making it seem like I’m giving them a free pass. And really, wouldn’t we all fight hard if we thought our children were in danger?

    I agree with what you said though and thanks for leaving a comment!

Leave a Reply

