Homegrown Sugar Peas

There’s something primal about growing your own food.  I will admit that, historically, I’ve been a terrible gardner but my faith has been restored by my ability to keep three spider plants, a pony tail palm, and some anonymous succulant alive for over a year now.  Baby steps!

Every year around this time, I start thinking that I should give gardening another shot.  I have visions of planting bulbs around the front perimeter of the house (should have done that last fall, I think…shoot I don’t know anyting about gardening) and maybe an herb garden out back.

Right now, I’m at work munching on sugar snap peas and I thought ‘Hey, I can totally plant these!’  They are SO good and are the perfect snack.  They keep your mouth busy with all the crunching but they’re good for you!  And thanks the glory of Google, I found two really great articles about starting your own sugar pea plants.  It doesn’t look too hard.

Veggie Gardening Tips

Growing Sugar Snap Peas

I don’t think that a girl can call herself a Cupcake Feminist until she eats something that she grew herself so I’m going to channel my inner Ed Hume and get to work!

~ by fluvial on April 8, 2008.

2 Responses to “Homegrown Sugar Peas”

  1. Yay! We need to start the Cupcake Feminist sustainable gardening co-op. We can meet during harvest time and trade our yields. I’ve got yellow onions, garlic, radishes, basil, cilantro, dill, and thyme growing on my back porch right now. (Although only the garlic and thyme have sprouted thus far). I want to start doing a rotating lettuce thing so we can have fresh lettuce nearly every day…. that would be fabulous!

  2. Dude! How do I hang out with you ALL the time and continue to be unaware of all the veggie goodness you’re planting??

    That’s fantastical.

Leave a Reply

