The perfect spring dress?

I just saw this picture of Scarlett Johansson at the Berlin Film Festival:

dress1.jpg

I’ve been searching for a dress pattern that I can use for all the weddings I’m attending this summer and I’ve found two that I like.  I had a third one in mind but when I look at the construction, I didn’t like it so it got scrapped.  But this dress could send me in a better direction.  Here’s why I like it:

1. Modest without being doudy.  I’m going to a wedding, not a rave so I want to look classy.  My mom would call it ‘The Sweet Heat’.

2. Sewing in silk would be easier than sewing thin layers of organza or chiffon.  I’m all about easy.

3. The construction doesn’t look too difficult.  Again, I’m not out to be a couture dress maker here.

Granted, I would omit the fishnets, the fried hair, and the heavy eye makeup but still…this dress could be the inspiration I was looking for!

~ by fluvial on February 28, 2008.

7 Responses to “The perfect spring dress?”

  1. This might come in handy:

    Sewing & Stitchery Expo (http://edb.seattletimes.nwsource.com/ae/scr/edb_ed.cfm?evt=275195&s=st)
    Speakers, exhibits, vendors and seminars on sewing, quilting, needlework, knitting, embroidery, wearable art, beading
    Venue: Puyallup Fair and Events Center

  2. mmmmm… I adore that dress! the bodice is gorgeous, I love the neckline. I want!

  3. LOVE the dress and the color. I also really like the fishnets too. 😉

  4. I like the fishnets but I think my dad would die if I wore that to a wedding. hehe

    So where does a girl find a pattern for this dress?!

  5. Good luck Katie! It looks HOT! What color fabric are you thinking?

  6. I actually do like the eggplant color but if I could find something a bit deeper, that’d be great. But maybe that’s too dark for a summer wedding?

  7. hey…yah..such a lovely and elegant dress…i like that…well i love the shoes too.

Leave a Reply

