The Photo Contest

Hi.  My name is Fluvial and I’m a travel addict. 

I just entered a contest through STA for a trip to four countries of your choice, airfare paid for you and a friend.  I chose:  China, Iran (for real), Antartica, and Namibia.    It asked for your all time favorite travel pictures and from what I understood, you could upload multiple pics.  Turns out, you could only submit one but I thought this would be a good forum for me to post them all.  Enjoy!

Blowing trees over in Patagonia (near the very very tip of the South American continent) where Antartica was only a short boat ride away.  The winters there are insanely harsh as shown by trees that grow sideways!

tree.jpg

Me on the zip line flying through the canopy of Costa Rican rainforest.  You really do feel like you’re flying.  Basically, you put on a harness, helmut, and gloves and then place your trust in the safety standards of the Costa Rican tourism board.  🙂 

zipline.jpg

Immediatly post-rapid in the White Salmon River.  This was one of the coolest things my mom and I have ever done.  I was going through a really awful break up so she surprised me with a weekend getaway (when I should have been at Burning Man but didn’t go because of the guy…oi oi oi) filled with massages and she even tried river running because she knew it’s one of my favorite things.  Brave mom!

whitesalmon2.jpg

And of course, Havasupai.  How can you have a travel montage without a Canyon picture?  Especially when you’re a giant Canyon nerd like myself?

havasupai073.jpg

~ by fluvial on February 25, 2008.

3 Responses to “The Photo Contest”

  1. Just amazing pictures! You are very fortunate to have been able to travel so much. I hope you win! 😀

  2. Yeah, I feel pretty lucky to have travelled so much. And I’m not done! I’ve got a Havasupai reunion in Mary and Switzerland/Italy in June with the chance of a Burning Man weekend at the end of August. Can’t stay still for too long after all. 😉

  3. I had no idea you had gone and done so many cool travelly things! Ooh, makes me want to see many places!

Leave a Reply

