Sewing advice from an early John Cusack film

One of my all time favorite movies is Better Off Dead.  It’s full of quotables like:

“Now that’s a real shame when folks be throwing away a perfectly good white boy like that”

and

“Gee Johnny, I don’t have a dime.  See, my little brother got his arm stuck in the microwave. So my mom had to take him to the hospital. My grandma dropped acid this morning, and she freaked out. She hijacked a busload of penguins. So it’s sort of a family crisis. Bye!”

and of course…

“Didn’t ask for a dime.  TWO DOLLARS!”

So what on earth does this generation defining film have to do with the half cut up muslin in my sewing room?  Well, Lane Meyer’s love interest in the movie, Monique, give his sage advice when he’s training to ski the K12 in an effort to beat Roy Stalin and win back his ex-girlfriend, Beth.  Monique tells him to “Go down the hill really fast.  If something gets in your way…TURN”. 

Duh.

I was reminded of this quote by reading something on one of my favorite sewing blogs.  It went like this: “Sewing is no longer something people need to do to survive on the frontier [if you ARE on the frontier, pls ignore this part]; it’s a FUN HOBBY. Vigorously expunge the parts that aren’t fun. So you screwed up. So what? Bury the evidence, deny, deny, deny, and move ON.”

I’m attempting to sew a dress for the two weddings I’ll be attending this summer.  I found a cute vintage pattern that is suposidly ‘easy’ but we’ll see.  I feel the pressure!  I don’t want to go these weddings looking like ‘I made my dress’…I want to go looking super chic and have people offer up their first borns to know the name of my personal shopper. 

Here’s the vintage pattern I have now. I think the jacket would be too much the construction of the dress is way cute:

dress.jpg

And here’s the other more modern pattern I’m considering:

dress2.jpg

So, the trick to releasing some pressure and reminding myself that sewing is fun?  I think it’s listening to Monique and Dress-a-Day Blog Lady….keep it fun.  I’ll sew when I’m in a good mood.  I will make a muslin before I cut expensive fabric.  I will harness the power of my dress form.  And if all hell breaks loose and I realize that I am a completely inept seamstress….there’s always ready made.

~ by fluvial on February 8, 2008.

One Response to “Sewing advice from an early John Cusack film”

  1. I love the movie Better Off Dead. I know you can do it! I’m looking forward to your end result. Be sure to post it!!!!

    {{Positive Energy!!}}

Leave a Reply

