Quinoa, Capers, and Whores

My friend Bri was the one that introduced me to the Post Punk Kitchen, Vegan Cupcakes, and all the goodness that came with it.  Her cupcake skills are far better than mine (she actually sifts her flour and follows the ‘don’t add everything all at once rule) but I make out okay most of the time.

 Last year, I bought myself a copy of ‘Vegan with a Vegence’ and ‘Vegan Cupcakes Take over the World’ and have had great luck with both!  I’ve also started reading the author’s blog.  Recently, she blogged about my favorite go-to recipe: puttanesca or ‘whore’s pasta’

Puttanesca is usually the first meal I make when I’m trying to impress a boy with my mad cooking prowess.  It’s easy, tastes great, and begs for wine so usually by the time dinner’s over the boy is fed, happy, and we’re both slightly tipsy.  It’s great.  Anyway, the Vegan Princess posted a recipe for quinoa puttanesca!  Brilliant!  Quinoa is so very good for you and it’d be super great to cut out all those carbs!  I think I’ll give it a try. 

 quinoa.jpg

Here’s a snippet from her site with a link below:

The first time I had pasta puttanesca I was waitressing at a restaurant in Park Slope. A fellow waitress told me that it was the pasta that Italian whores ate. She was always saying things like, “I spilled ketchup all over my tits,” and pronouncing “mimosa” in a really suggestive way. I just figured she was telling me that so she could say the word “whore” while slurping down linguine, but it is actually true, pasta putanesca is the pasta of whores. And I can see why.

If you’re anything like me you always have a gigantic thing of capers and olives in your fridge (not to mention great bone structure and an impressive unicorn collection.) Puttanesca is a really quick way to put together a complex tasting – passionate even – dish with pantry staples. Succulent, salty and a little spicy, the ingredients and method are simple enough that you can prep it, cook it and clean up after yourself in a leisurely 30 minutes, and then get back to the matter at hand, whether that be sex with strangers for money or updating your blog.

http://theppk.com/blog/2007/11/15/quinoa-puttanesca/

~ by fluvial on December 20, 2007.

3 Responses to “Quinoa, Capers, and Whores”

  1. This looks good, I recently got a pound of quinoa and have been meaning to figure something out. Any excuse for me to go to DeLaurenti’s is all I need to cook these days…

  2. Yeah, it sounds pretty darn tasty. I might make it while I’m in CA with my folks.

  3. This looks really tasty, i enjoy eating quinoa on the odd occasion. I’ve put together a few quinoa recipes if you are interested in having a look i’ve posted them at my blog here: http://www.nikkisblogspot.com/2008/04/14/quinoa-recipes . 🙂

Leave a Reply

