Let’s just take this slow…

(Sorry for the radio silence lately.  I just started a new job and both work and social lives have exploded with activity leaving me with too little time to do all the things that I want to do…like write this blog!)

Lately, I’ve been trying to figure out the direction I want to take my dancing.  In general, I like patterns and inclusivity.  I also like angles and tension in space (and the release!)  Tango provides that in partner dancing and belly dance satisfies that in solo dancing but I’m always up for trying new forms of dance…which brings me to blues.

Funny story:  I was in Buenos Aires in March of last year (for tango, of course) and I accidently left my email browser open in the hostel computer.  The guy who used the computer after me saw my inbox, recognized an email from a mutual friend and turns out, we were both from Seattle, had mutual friends, and both loved to dance!  Fantastic!

*Flash to Burning Man, 2007*

I hadn’t talked to this guy (Ted) since then.  I’m at Burning Man lounging around with my campmates and the subject turns to dance.  I say ‘Oh yeah, I was just in Buenos Aires for tango’ and the handsome stranger says ‘I know, that’s where we met.’    After getting over my initial shock, I realised that this was Ted!  I hadn’t talked with him since that one day in Argentina and here he was sitting in front of me in the middle of nowhere in Black Rock City. 

Point being: Ted is a blues dancer and good one, at that.  He can tango too but blues, yeah, that’s his forte.  I’d never really heard of blues dancing until Burning Man save for random references here and there in post-tango class  conversations that I’d eavesdrop on.  🙂 

Ted and I did a little blue dancing on the playa including some in a tent serving up pancakes and matinis but I didn’t give it much thought after I returned to civilization.

*Flash to now*

Turns out, there are quite a few tanguero/as who moonlight as blues dancers!  Two of them started a tango/blues fusion practica and I’ve been going to that pretty regularly.  I’m still pretty shy since I don’t now the basic steps for blues but it’s still turning out to be a lot of fun.  To me, blues dancing is what you do after three hours of tango dancing when you find someone that you really want to flirt with.  🙂

Wikipedia defines it differently:   Blues dancing is a modern term used to describe the family of historical dances that developed in response to blues music, or the contemporary dances that draw on their tradition.

I like my definition better.

~ by fluvial on December 5, 2007.

2 Responses to “Let’s just take this slow…”

  1. My mother and sister tried to teach me fast dancing (plain old couple dancing) for years and I still can’t fast dance. I’ve been exposed to “the dance,” ballet and admire anyone who’s any good at it. But dance period: the tango (Last Tango in Paris) or blues dancing are wonderful art forms.

    And they’re also good to do just for fun. Keep on dancing.

  2. Oh for sure. If tango ever stops being fun, I’ll stop for a while. For now though, I’m loving all the dance I’m doing and think I would die if I had to stop now. 🙂

    Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

