…breaks like a little girl

I had/have a great friend who’s a complete Dylan nut. Back in the day, I found his songs intriguing but couldn’t handle his raspy voice for more than 20 minutes. But over the years, there are a few Dylan songs that have become old friends and my relationship and understanding of them has changed with my continued move forward. Although cliche and universally liked, my faves are:

1. Tangled up in Blue

2. Shelter from the Storm

and

3. Just like a woman

The last one especially feels like it’s got a new tender meaning now that I’m a bit older. Having sailed through my teens and about to enter my mid-20’s, sometimes I do feel like I ‘break like a little girl’ despite the fact that I have business cards and a million stamps in my passport.

Anyway, here’s a video of Dylan performing the song in 1966.

Really, who knows what the song is really about but here’s an article written by someone who’s clearly given it a lot of thought:

Quote: Take Just Like A Woman. It was one of the first Dylan songs I heard, yet it took until friday (March 6, 1998) before I suddenly saw the genius in the song (as apart from its beauty or its cleverness). It all works on a harmonical level, of course. Not much more than three chords and its variations, but here it all comes together very nicely. Whatever the text is about – drugs, transvestitism, or whatever – the music is about pain and unfulfilled love.

http://www.dylanchords.com/professors/JustLikeaWoman.htm

~ by fluvial on November 21, 2007.

One Response to “…breaks like a little girl”

  1. Katherine, this is great for you to finally recognize this. His voice has long been an old friend to me as well. Join the Dylan fold around the world, its the base for the rock & roll generation…weather you are in Bejing, Boston or Berlin. John Lennon was one of the first real Dylan Heads ((changed the Beatles music for sure), Jimi Hendrix joined the club shortly there after and the floodgates have been open ever since. There is so much to say about all this, I guess the best thing to do is just listen.
    try this clean dozen:

    Ballad Of A Thin Man
    If Not For You
    Corrina Corrina
    Ring Them Bells
    When You Gonna Wake Up
    The Lonesome Death Of Hattie Carroll
    If Dogs Run Free
    Highway 61 Revisited
    Your’re A Big Girl Now
    Knocked Out and Loaded
    Everything Is Broken
    Heart Of Mine

Leave a Reply

