The perfect LBD

While sipping my coffee this morning and reading the Fug Girls, I saw a picture of what could actually be a rare example of the perfect Little Black Dress (LBD).  I present to you….lovely-ness:

lbd.jpg

 Julianne Moore on the right looks a little weird but whomever is next to her…wow.  You have to play tight in a very fine way sometimes.  You don’t want to look like sausage casing but you also don’t want things to fit you poorly and this lady nailed it.  This would be a great style for us short girls because with a killer pair of pointy heels..resistance would be futile.  The dress is classy, doesn’t show shoulders, accentuates the decolletage, is simple, and has a little bit of bling on it.  I love it!  I also love dresses like this because you don’t have to spend a fortune on accessories.  🙂

 I think I’m going to have to find a pattern for this dress.

~ by fluvial on November 8, 2007.

9 Responses to “The perfect LBD”

  1. On the left is Ellen Barkin [imdb], rather fabulous. And on the right is the fabulous paper bag dress – flowy gathered silk…fun to sew and wear. It’s the type of fashion that is more art/expression and less “look hot for guys”.

  2. ALL HAIL THE LITTLE BLACK DRESS! 🙂 Ellen Barkin is gorgeous! So is Julianne Moore.

  3. yup, that’s Ellen Barken (looking rather good for over 50, eh?)
    very pretty dresses!

  4. Agreed. I’m not saying that I dislike Julianne’s dress but, yes, it’s much more about ‘expression’. Plus, I’ll bet it’s insanely comfortable which is a total bonus. Also, I LOVE Julianne’s hair. Perhaps ‘covet’ is a more appropriate word.

    Ellen Barken! Where have I been? I’ve not heard of her.

  5. I’m not totally convinced of Julianne’s dress myself, but I’d wear it because I could eat myself silly and it would still fit. 🙂 That dress is a foodie’s dream. It would also flow beautifully while dancing Tango.

  6. Agreed. It’d be a little hard to dance tango in the dress on the left. I’m not sure I’d want my back side THAT exposed.

  7. Hmmm, Ellen’s dress is beautiful but I think the only way you can fit into a tight-ish dress like that is to have a tight body. In my dreams. 😀 I do appreciate how the new “stretch” clothes we’ve been seeing in the last few years are so forgiving, though. Thank you, whoever invented Spandex!!

    I am a Julianne Moore fan myself but those shoes…? Sorry, they have to go!

  8. I am so greatful… I don’t even remember how I stubled onto your blog… but finding Comfort Radio.. OMG it was wonderful…Not to discount your wit and instie… Thank You

  9. Great Gill! Glad you found something useful. I haven’t been updating this blog lately but I’m going to try to find the time. 🙂

    Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

