My halloween costume

I have a history of making weird costumes for Halloween.  One year, my friend Susie and I were a tv, and a tv remote, respectively (made out of carboard boxes).  I was a Hershey Kiss once.  Then there was the time when I was very little and my mom dressed me up as a devil and took me to a church carnival.  Oops. 

 This year, my friends and I are throwing a party with the theme of ‘It Came from the Depths’ .  This theme was decided upon after I announced my intention to dress up like Puget Sound sometime in early September before anyone else had even begun to think of costumes.  🙂   Okay, that’s fine…how on earth does someone dress up like Puget Sound?!  Well, I had a sudden burst of inspiration while I was at work today.  Here goes:

I’d make a long black skirt.  I have a flesh colored corset that could serve as the base on the top.  So, the plan was to cut long strips of green fabric, attach it to the corset so that it hangs next to the skirt, and that would be the kelp bed.  I have a little stuffed otter and a stuffed orca that I will sew to the ‘kelp’.  Then, I’m going to cut out lots of starfish out of orange, pink, and purple fabric and sew them all over the corset with a line of them coming above my shoulder and across my back for added drama.  And last, but not least, purple sea urchin pig tail holders.

I made the skirt tonight and here’s what it looks like so far:

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Now, all I have to do is cut out all the other stuff and I’m good to go!

~ by fluvial on October 25, 2007.

2 Responses to “My halloween costume”

  1. Wow, this is a gorgeous dress all on its own!!

  2. I know! I’ve always wanted a skirt like that for some fancy occassion and now I have one. The corset is falling apart and not something I’d mind sewing stuff all over so it’s being sacrificed for this costume. I’ll post pics when it’s all done.

Leave a Reply

