Inspiration

And as long as we’re talking about inspiration…here are few images of what’s inspired me over the years. 

A dear friend gave me Annie Leibowitz’s ‘Women’ book for my 19th birthday which is right around the time I started having fun with my camera.  This image, in particular, really moved me.  I mean, yes…you can’t go wrong with beautiful women but there’s something really graceful about the mother/daughter power in this portrait.

gwynethpaltrowandmother.jpg

Second, if you know me, you know that I grew up in a world nearly totally void of current pop culture influences.  Okay, well that’s not entirely true but my mom did me a favor by exposing me to more classic films than the junk that came out in the 80’s.  Most of my snobbery can be attributed to this fact.  🙂  I remember looking at those glamorous movie stars of the 30’s and 40’s and wanting to either look just like them or have friends who looked just like them.  Here’s one of my faves, Veronica Lake:

veronica.jpg

And then there’s sculpture.  I remember going to Paris right after high school to visit my uncle and going to the Rodin museum.   I think inspiration from Rodin is self explanitory but here’s a visual anyway:

rodin.JPG

Another thing my mom did was host foreign exchange students which gave me a great taste for other cultures as a young child.  One year, we had Geraldine from France and I remember her as this larger than life, glamourous, French bombshell.  I could be distorting my memories here, but I think I remember her giving my mom a bottle of Coco Chanel and that scent always triggers memories of my mom getting ready for work and Geraldine blathering on the phone with yet another suiter.

I remember her telling me (I’m six at this point) in her lovely French accent “Katie, if you want ze boys to notice you, you simply drop your pencil on ze ground and they will pick it up for you”  🙂  My mother was horrified that she was giving her 1st grade daughter advice for picking up guys.

Inspiration.  So what do these things inspire in me?  Still working to figure that out.  I just know they make me go ‘ahhh’. 

~ by fluvial on September 26, 2007.

Leave a Reply

