Sparkle then fade…

home_sparkle_banner.jpg

…everything lasts forever.

 I had the fortunate opportunity to head to the Tacoma Art Museum last weekend to check out their new exhibit ‘Sparkle then Fade’.  It was an exploration of the way light has played a part in modern art.  And by modern, most of it was post-1965.  There were some amazing gritty photos and a deer encrusted entirely in crystals.  Basically, everything employed all my ‘Ooo shiny!’ receptors.  The thing that completely caught my attention though was an installation of lights, various wattages, on a square metal grid.  Sooooo beautiful.  I’ve decided to make one.  A little bird tells me that it’s possible to computer program that’ll dim the bulbs randomly.   Since I don’t know much about electricity, I’ll basically be the manual labor for the project but hopefully the final product will be playa-worthy.

~ by fluvial on August 6, 2007.

2 Responses to “Sparkle then fade…”

  1. That’s great. I’ve seen that poster and had some interest in seeing the exhibition, but Tacoma feels pretty far. I’m glad you liked it.

    I’m also tickled that you have a Burning Man project involving lights and electricity. Rock.

  2. Yeah, it’s just an idea at this point and I’m not even sure it’s possible to a) get a power request in at this late a date, b) if I can get my arse into gear to build the darn thing, etc. However, it’d be so cool and would totally affirm my ‘I wanna be a scientist’ desires. 🙂

    Also, Tacoma ain’t that far and there are a lot of museums worthy of a visit all within walking distance of each other. I recommend a visit!

Leave a Reply

