Tribal Belly Dance

About three months ago, I started taking belly dancing lessons with my friend Kerry taught by my friend Kendra.  The class is perfect because we’re all friends and there’s a lot of room for experimentation, lesson customization, and just general fooling around.  Kerry is already a dancing diva but I came in with no prior experience other than shaking my groove thing at parties and having people tell me that I should start bellydancing. 

Well, I love it.  It’s empowering and something that really makes you feel like a girl.  And it’s something you can share with other women and tap into the intense strength of the bond between females.  It’s ancient, primal, and lovely.

Technically speaking, http://nomaditude.com describes tribal bellydance as “a “structured improvisation” form of dance, which we liken to a form of language, only with movement instead of vocalizations.”  I think this is the most concise and accurate definition I’ve heared so let’s just go with that. 

And let’s not forget about the clothes!  Tribal gives you the opportunity to drown yourself in beautiful artisan silver, use gorgeous silk veils as an extension of your body, and paint yourself with henna, mascara, etc.  If you think you’ve reached the limit to the number of tassles around your waist, add four more.  Here’s a great example:

belly_dancer1.jpg

The tassles!  The belts!  The hair!  I love it.  Now, the hard part starts.  Where to find these pieces without spending a million dollars.  I haven’t quite figured that out yet but I’m on the hunt for choli patterns (the shirt).  Skirt patterns are easy to find but they usually require 6-10 yards of fabric which can get expensive FAST.

 Only a month left until Burning Man though so it’s time to get sewing!

My teacher, Kendra, dances with Hands of Kali and their website can be found at http://handsofkali.com

~ by fluvial on July 26, 2007.

7 Responses to “Tribal Belly Dance”

  1. I LOVED going to the recital with you last week. It was loverly. 🙂 I can’t wait to see you shakin’ it!

  2. Took belly dancing lessons a few years ago with a truly wild looking Sicilian woman. I was referred to the activity as a treatment for tendinitis (develop’d when I lerned HTML and Perl BITD) – the arm movements and “bowl stretches” we did actually helped a ton and getting all hot and sweaty made me add water my exclusive coffee drinking. Fun. I have a loverly head piece if you’re interested (I don’t do it anymore).

  3. Oh fabulous! I actually have a head piece but thanks for the offer. I’ve never heard of bellydance as a way to treat tendinitis but hey, if it works, it works. I’m just excited about the increasing strength of my abs.

  4. You are absolutely beautiful! Please check out our new site at http://www.anayatribal.com and give us your feedback. Please also share with you friends if you like what you see.

    Gypsy Luv~

  5. Good Evening. My name is Natasha and I am the person that you see in the tribal photo. That photo was taken at a local festival in my home town. I ask that you please put my name under my picture. For more information our studio website is http://www.bellydanceensemble.com Thank you

  6. Natasha, how beautiful are you??! Or is it just the costume which makes me see things?

  7. I LOVE TRIBAL BELLY DANCING!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

