Arlene Meyer: Posture Queen 1942-43

A few weeks ago, my grandpa was reading the paper like he does every morning with a cup of coffee in one hand and a cigarette in the other.  “Another nail in my coffin!” is his usual response if someone mentions the habit.   Anyway, in the Life section of the paper they have a section that’s something like ’50 years ago today…’ and they include a picture from the city archives with a little explanitory blurb.  So my grandpa is reading the paper and then he nearly spits out his coffee and exclaims “That’s my wife!”  As it turns out, my grandma was the Posture Queen of Steward Junior High School for the 1942-43 school year!  Behind her sit the Posture Duchesses.  Now, I’m not entirely sure what gets a girl crowned Posture Queen but I do know that Grandma was one classy lady so it fits with her persona.  Alas, her title was revoked two days later because the gym teacher caught her biting her nails.  Clearly, being Posture Queen means not biting your nails.

~ by fluvial on June 28, 2007.

3 Responses to “Arlene Meyer: Posture Queen 1942-43”

  1. I found your site early this morning while bored and Googling my name. Your grandmother has a great name and your blogs pretty great too!

  2. Thank you! I very rarely update this blog anymore but I think I should start again.

    Thanks for commenting!

  3. I’d like to include your blog entry about your grandmother in the chiropractic museum in Davenport, Iowa. The Posture Queens were sponsored by the chiropractic profession to help make the public more aware of the profession. – Alana Callender, Ed.D. PFCH@palmer.edu

Leave a Reply

