Doughnuts

Last year around New Years, I watched a local PBS show about food traditions around the world.  According to them, people in Belgium make doughnuts for New Year’s Eve and enjoy them with their favorite people while ringing in the New Year.  Well, the doughnuts they made looked incredible and I thought “Hey, I can do that!”  So I got online, found a recipe, got the swag (sprinkles and a doughnut cutter and such), and proceeded to make yeast doughnuts.  They turned out more like sweet bagels but my aren’t they pretty!

To follow up on the Belgian story, I had met a Belgian earlier in December and I proudly declared after the New Year that I had made doughnuts…just like they do in Belgium!  He looked at me like I was crazy and then asked what  a doughnut was.  🙂  The lack of the doughnut’s place in Belgian culture was later confirmed by another real live Belgian.  But no matter, making doughnuts is fun but next time I’ll likely try baked ones (and decorate them with the red, white, and blue…since they seem to be only american).

~ by fluvial on April 24, 2007.

Leave a Reply

