Who’d like a Tom Collins?

I found this dress on ebay but alas, it’s a) too small and b) too expensive.  But isn’t it beautiful?!

I can totally see myself in this dress sitting on THIS chair:

A short history of my love affair with this chair –   I fell in love with this chair sometime around age 11 (I know…who actually likes furniture when they’re a kid?) and I’ve decided that someday…it will be mine.  If I get a big bonus at work or win the lottery or something, this is what I’ll buy. 

A short history of the actual chair (courtesy of Design Within Reach) –  

Ludwig Mies van der Rohe’s Barcelona Chair and Stool (1929), originally created to furnish his German Pavilion at the International Exhibition in Barcelona, have come to epitomize modern design. Mies van der Rohe designed the chair to serve as seating for the king and queen of Spain, while the stool was intended to accommodate their attendants. Still produced to his original specifications, this Barcelona is of quality fit for royalty. The cushions — welting and buttons included — come from a single Spinneybeck® Volo cowhide and are supported by cowhide belting straps, dyed to match the color of the chair. To create the deep, precise tufting, individual panels of leather are cut, hand welted and hand tufted. The chromed-steel frame is hand buffed to mirror-like perfection. The Barcelona Chair was honored with the Museum of Modern Art Award in 1977.

~ by fluvial on April 20, 2007.

One Response to “Who’d like a Tom Collins?”

  1. Hey, I really love old retro stuff and vintage furniture is one of my favorites. The old stuff was made well and lasts, not like the new cheap stuff.

Leave a Reply

